A 25-member Board of Commissioners appointed by the Governor supports California Volunteers. Its role is to carry out the mission and objectives of California Volunteers and fulfill the statutory responsibilities for State Commissions under the National and Community Service Trust Act of 1993.

Commission members do not receive a salary, function as “Ambassadors of Service” in their local communities to promote service opportunities, and to encourage service by all Californians. Commissioners also participate in the following activities on behalf of California Volunteers:

  • Approve grant-making policies, procedures, and funding proposals submitted to the Corporation for National and Community Service;
  • Advise and participate in the work of California Volunteers including policy, communication and program decision making, and special initiatives, by attending meetings and participating on committees, working groups, and task-forces;
  • Reach out to specific constituencies such as government, nonprofits, business, labor, and communities of faith to seek their participation in and support of California Volunteers activities and programs;
  • Coordinate with other state agencies and volunteer service programs to ensure a comprehensive and integrated service system within the state;
  • Promote community service throughout the state by representing California Volunteers at service-related events and venues;
  • Support California Volunteers funded programs by participating in site visits and speaking at launch or graduation activities; and,
  • Participate in the development of the annual state service plan often called the Unified State Plan


First Partner Jennifer Siebel Newsom, Honorary Chair – First Partner of California
Kathy McKim, Chair – Senior Vice President, Hawksbill Group
Amanda Plasencia – Analyst, Third Plateau Social Impact Strategies
Benjamin “Benji” Carvajal – Receptionist, Beck’s Motor Lodge
Clara Chiu – Development Officer, AARP Foundation
Dan Newman – California Public Affairs and Political Campaign Strategist
Darren Dow Ocasio – State Rank and File, CALFIRE Local 2881
David Porges – Director of Corporate Relations, Cal Poly Pomona
Donna Bojarsky – Consultant
Eddie Valero – Supervisor, Tulare County
Henry Lozano – Managing Partner, Brown and Lozano
Jeff Hoffman – Jeff Hoffman and Associates
Karla Crawford – RSVP Volunteer and President, PART Foundation
Ken Martinet – President and CEO, Catholic Big Brothers Big Sisters
Laurie Cannady – Deputy Regional Administrator, West Region, Corporation for National and Community Service
Lindsay Callahan – President and Chief Executive Officer, United Way of Fresno and Madera Counties
Lisa Spinali – Lisa Spinali Consulting
Rene Jones – Partner, Global Head of Social Impact, and Founder, UTA Foundation
Rita Holiday – Community Relations Program Manager, Intel Corporation
Rodrego Byerly – President and CEO, EVITARUS; Professor, California State University, Los Angeles
Ted Benito – Executive Director, Foundation International
Tim Strauch – Vice President and COO, OneOC
Tony Thurmond – California State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Yvette Radford – Vice President, External & Community Affairs, Kaiser Permanente

Commission meeting agendas can be found on our Public Notices page.